Calendar of events

January


TBD - Econofoods shopping days and brat frys.

Sunday, Jan. 1
Mink River Basin Brunch to benefit DCHS

February


National Prevent-A-Litter Month

Saturday, February 1
Valentine’s Day Pet Photo Contest at the Door County Co-op.
  Submit a photo of any pet(s) by 2/1 . The Co-op will create display of all the photos allowing customers to vote for their favorites with a donation to the Humane Society. Voting continues through Valentine’s Day and the winner will be announced on 2/17.

Saturday, February 8
Snowmobile Poker Run, 10am-5pm. $20 early registration/$25 day of event. Includes lunch. Seven stops to collect poker hand. Begin and end at Happy Hour in Valmy.

Friday, February 15
Main Street Market Shopping Day
, 9:30 a.m. to noon, Egg Harbor.

Friday, Saturday & Sunday, Feb. 14-16
ADOPTION EVENT PETSMART, Pilgrim Way, Green Bay, 10:00 am-5:00 pm

Saturday, February 22
Shopping Day, Pick n' Save
, Sturgeon Bay, 12:00 pm-3:00 pm.

Tuesday, February 25
Spay Day USA

March


April


Thursday, Friday & Saturday, April 24-26
DCHS Rummage Sale, JayCee Hall, Sturgeon Bay.  Drop-off donated items Thursday, April 24 from 5:30-7:30, and all day Friday. Early sales begin at noon on Friday with $5 donation. Sale begins on Saturday at 7:30am, clearance begins at noon.

May


Friday, May 2 - Sunday, May 4
PetSmart Adoption Weekend

Week of May 4 - May 9
Be Kind To Animals Week


Saturday, May 10
Kitten Baby Shower
from 12-2 p.m.
Join us welcoming the new kitten arrivals at the shelter!  Bring them a gift from our wishlist, games, snacks and 50/50 raffle

Friday, May 23
Shopping Day at EconoFoods, 2-4 p.m.

Saturday, May 31
Brat Fry at EconoFoods, 10 a.m.- 2 p.m.

June


American Humane Association's Adopt A Cat Month

Friday, June 20
Take Your Dog to Work Day

July


Thursday, July 3
Shopping Day at EconoFoods,
2-4 p.m.

Thursday, July 3 (11am-6pm) and Friday July 4 (11am-5pm)
Glitter Tattoos
for the whole family at Something Fishy, Highway 42, Egg Harbor. $5 suggested donation to the Humane Society. 

Saturday, July 12
"Catching Our Tales" -
Joint project with "Write On, Door County".  Kids from kindergarten through 5th Grade are invited to come to the shelter from 10:30-12noon, take a tour, and then write a "biography" of an animal they have met.  Admission: $1 or a can of dog or cat food.  Limited to 20 children.  Please email nancy@dooranimals.com to reserve a space.

Thursday, July 17
Circle of Compassion. 
Discussion group for those who have suffered pet loss or are facing a difficult decision regarding their pet.  Led by our chaplain, Rev. Bruce Joffe.  7:00-8:30pm at the shelter. No cost.

August


Friday, Aug. 1
“Surfin’ for the Shelter”
, Harbor View Park, Egg Harbor. Tickets $75/each for dinner and dancing.

Saturday, Aug. 2
Brat Fry at EconoFoods, 10 a.m.- 2 p.m.

Saturday, Aug. 9
"Catching Our Tales" -
Joint project with "Write On, Door County".  Kids from kindergarten through 5th Grade are invited to come to the shelter from 10:30-12noon, take a tour, and then write a "biography" of an animal they have met.  Admission: $1 or a can of dog or cat food.  Limited to 20 children.  Please email nancy@dooranimals.com to reserve a space.

Saturday, Aug. 23
BARK BY THE BAY PET WALK – Martin Park, Sturgeon Bay. $25. Registrants encouraged to solicit pledges for walk around downtown. Lunch included, music, vendors. 9am-1pm. Click HERE for the pledge form

Friday, Aug. 29
Shopping Day at EconoFoods,
2-4 p.m.

September


Saturday, Sept. 6
Brat Fry at EconoFoods, 10 a.m.- 2 p.m.

Friday, Sept. 12 - Sunday, Sept. 14
PetSmart Adoption Weekend

Saturday, Sept. 13
"Catching Our Tales" -
Joint project with "Write On, Door County".  Kids from kindergarten through 5th Grade are invited to come to the shelter from 10:30-12noon, take a tour, and then write a "biography" of an animal they have met.  Admission: $1 or a can of dog or cat food.  Limited to 20 children.  Please email nancy@dooranimals.com to reserve a space.

October

American Humane Association's Adopt A Dog Month

Saturday, Oct. 4
World Animal Day

Friday, Oct. 10
Shopping Day at EconoFoods,
2-4 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 11 - Sunday, Oct. 12
DCHS Booth at Townline Art Fair
at Fine Line Art Gallery, on State Highway 42, North Ephraim

Thursday, Oct. 16
“Circle of Compassion” Pet Loss Discussion
led by Rev. Bruce Joffe, DCHS Chaplain. At the shelter, 7:00-8:30pm. All who have lost a pet or are facing a hard decision are invited. No charge.

Friday - Sunday, Oct. 17 - 19
FALL FESTIVAL, Sister Bay - DCHS Booth is located just south of Al Johnson’s Restaurant. Logo merchandise on Friday; food, beverages, and merchandise on Saturday & Sunday. Bring your dog and join DCHS Director Carrie Counihan to walk in the parade on Saturday! We meet up on Maple Street at 10:30am. Parade begins at 11:00 down Hwy.42.

Thursday, Oct. 16
National Feral Cat Day

November


TBA - November PetSmart Adoption Weekend

December


Saturday, Dec. 6
DCHS ANNUAL MEETING / VOLUNTEER APPRECIATION / OPEN HOUSE
. More information coming as the date approaches. We can’t wait to see everyone!

Share |

Alley Cat Allies pets 911 Yellow Book I Give Donations
Good Search 106.9 The Lodge PetSmart Good Search
Cellcom Inge Bacon, CPA Rally to Rescue
door county travelers journal door county navigator
Shop at IGIVE to help raise money for DCHS!
Use Goodsearch when you search, put DCHS in as your selected cause
and help raise money for the shelter!